Discover the beauty of this misterious country, the Sultanate of Oman with White Oryx



This is a city of trade and enterprise, with its port and commercial quarter. Muttrah has a population of 154,316 living in eight residential districts: Muttrah City, Greater Muttrah, Al Wattia, Ruwi City, Wadi Addi, Annat, Qurum (east of the Nature Park) and the Port of Al Fahl. It is said that the name Muttrah (a place to throw something down) comes from the presence of an anchorage for ships (i.e "throw down the anchor").Another interpretation of the name is as of a place to "unload or put down goods or merchandise." The Wilayat of Muttrah is counted amongst the most important of the six Wilayats in Muscat Governorate, on account of its ancient historical and cultural standing; for it was Oman's ancient trading port and its suq was the principal source of the many and diverse goods relayed from the port to the other suqs of Oman. It is said that it was once also a fertile spot much cultivated with date palms and other trees, watered by aflaj and sweetwater wells from which the citizens, orchards and visiting ships were supplied.

Muttrah boasts a number of archaeological and tourist landmarks in the shape of forts, walls, towers, aflaj and watercourses, as well as parks and gardens.

Muttrah Fort, known popularly as Koot Muttrah is one of the most prominent of the 13 forts scattered throughout the Wilayat. It has six towers, built under the Portuguese during their occupation of Muscat after 1578. It was the seat of government during the rule of Sultan Said bin Sultan Al Bousaidi and occupies an elevated site on the mountain overlooking the Muttrah coast.

Amongst the other forts are: Al Rouja, Mattirah Al Fanateef, Jebel Kalbou, Luzum, Hukum, Al Reeh, Sanjouri, Al Gharifa, Bahwar, Beit Falaj and Shaji'aia.
The most notable of the walls in this Wilayat the one which runs from the southern to the nortern mountain. Known as Sur Ruwi, it has a gate the centre which can with justification claim to Muscat's first access gate on the northern interiside. It was constructed to regulate access to tcapital when the Sultan bin Ahmed Al Bousaidi tothis as his seat of government.

Muttrah has another three walls: Sur Al Lawati, Sur Muttrah Al Qadim (Old Muttrah), and Sur Jabarou.

There are two towers, one of them on the highmountain at Zarafia which takes its name - BoZarafia - from this place. The other smaller tower situated at the highest point in the Wadi Khalfan.

Two aflaj run through this distriFalaj Al Wattia. The other comes out of the ground at Wadi Al Kebir and passes beneath the Beit Al Falaj. Hence its name Falaj Al Falaj.

Muttrah has a total of 16 Widian, the most.important of them Al Harath, Al Aseel, Al Naqa, Al Walja, Al Hamaria, Dar Seit, Maysah Al Awd and Wadi Al Kebir.

It has three public gardens, in the Al Midan Al Tijari, Wadi Al Kebir and Riam quarters respectively; and two museums, the Armed Forces Museum and the National Museum, as well as the Islamic Library. In all there are 79 mosques in the cities and villages of the Wilayat.

Traditional Occupations

Amongst the livelihoods still practised in this district are carpentry, gold and silver jewellery craft and fishing.The industries include halwa, plaited palm frond ropes, textiles, blacksmithing, silverwork, perfumes and the production of ambergris.